University of Arizona Colleges of Letters, Arts and Science

The University of Arizona Colleges of Letters, Arts and Science offers a signature University experience: opportunities for students to explore areas of study that cannot be contained within a single department or college. Consisting of the colleges of Fine Arts, Humanities, Science, and Social and Behavioral Sciences, this new collaborative college will advance innovative programs that cross the boundaries of humanities, arts and the sciences. It will foster interdisciplinary research and offer undergraduate and graduate students unparalleled opportunities to learn from and contribute to a diverse intellectual community.

College Features

College of Fine Arts

Consisting of five professional schools: Art, Dance, Media Arts, Music, and Theatre Arts, the College offers its students a rigorous education in the arts. Students are engaged in performance, teaching, creativity and research. Taking a conservatory approach in a liberal arts setting, the College of Fine Arts prepares students for professional careers while promoting a deep understanding of the value of the arts, the opportunities for collaboration with other fields, and the special role the arts play in outreach to the community.

College of Humanities

A common thread linking the 17 departments and programs in the College of Humanities is the contributions they make to our understanding of human societies through their languages, literatures, and cultures. The faculty develops innovative strategies for teaching and produce cutting-edge scholarship. Faculty, students, and staff come together to present special events on campus and in the greater community that include panels, talks, films, and performances throughout the year. With all this we highlight and celebrate the College of Humanities preeminent faculty, its extraordinary students, and the quality and richness of its programs.

College of Science

The College of Science brings together globally prominent faculty in disciplines at the core of scientific inquiry and education. The College is a nexus of award-winning programs and centers that encourage both independent and collaborative-driven research. Our 15 academic departments and research units encompass the range of physical, mathematical, environmental and life sciences. We offer next-generation scientists the opportunity to engage in groundbreaking research side-by-side with accomplished faculty. Our scientists and students share their knowledge with the local and broader community through extensive outreach and public service initiatives.

College of Social and Behavioral Sciences

The College of Social and Behavioral Sciences includes a diverse set of internationally renowned faculty and nationally ranked academic programs that share a focus on the human experience over time and place. SBS has 20 disciplinary, multidisciplinary, outreach and research units from anthropology to the Southwest Center that focus on the understanding of human beings and the societies and cultures they create. SBS students receive a diverse, interdisciplinary experience from professors who are committed to integrating the instructional experience with cutting edge research and outreach.

Center for Exploratory Students

The Center for Exploratory Students (CES) is the academic home for undecided/exploratory students as well as all Pre-Nursing and Interdisciplinary Studies majors at the University of Arizona. CES provides academic advising services as well as help and resources for students exploring majors. While the UA does not offer a pre-med or pre-law major, the Pre-Health Professions Advising Center and the Pre-Law Advising Program are both part of CES. These services assist students in the preparation for and application to professional programs.

Contact Information

1040 E. Fourth Street
Gould-Simpson Building, Room 1025
Arizona 85721-0077
United States
Phone: (520) 621-4090