University of Arizona College of Science

The College of Science brings together globally prominent faculty in disciplines at the core of scientific inquiry and education. One of the largest colleges at the University of Arizona, The College of Science is a nexus of award-winning programs and centers that encourage both independent and collaborative-driven research.

Our 15 academic departments and research units encompass the range of physical, mathematical, environmental and life sciences. We are an integrative learning institution, offering next-generation scientists the opportunity to engage in groundbreaking research side-by-side with accomplished faculty. Our scientists and students also share their knowledge with the local and broader community through extensive outreach and public service initiatives.

College Features

  • Renowned faculty includes: 2 Nobel laureates, 13 National Academy of Sciences members, 8 American Academy of Arts and Sciences members, 3 MacArthur Fellows, 9 Guggenheim Fellows, 10 UA Distinguished Professors, 40 UA Regents Professors
  • Nearly two-thirds of undergraduate students in the College of Science participate in independent research projects mentored by our distinguished faculty.

Departments And Units

The College of Science is comprised of fifteen major academic departments and research units.

  • Astronomy/Steward Observatory
  • Atmospheric Sciences/IAP
  • Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • Computer Science
  • Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
  • Geosciences
  • Hydrology and Water Resources
  • Laboratory of Tree-Ring Research
  • Mathematics
  • Molecular and Cellular Biology
  • Neuroscience
  • Physics
  • Planetary Sciences/LPL
  • Psychology
  • Speech, Language and Hearing Sciences

Contact Information

1040 E. Fourth Street
Gould-Simpson Building, Room 1025
Arizona 85721
United States
Phone: (520) 621-4090
Fax: (520) 621-8389